Some afterthoughts.

After looking at two articles that I recently reblogged; I thought back to my experience at Carolina Foothills.  I came to realize that I got a very good dose of what was described in both of those posts when i went there.  The feeling i got there at CF was somewhat stifling. I still remember how my guide answered a lot of my questions with a sense of distaste.  I remember her saying that a number of their members wanted to keep the fact that they were naturists a secret because of their public lives.  I may be wrong about this; but the feeling i got from the staff and people at Carolina Foothills was that new people weren’t wanted unless they fit a very specific criteria, i.e. straight and straight laced married, white couples in their 40’s or older, preferably with their children being grown, out of the house and not with them.

My experience and the feelings i got from that time has led me to the conclusion that there may be a number of naturist clubs like this.   The clubs are where people come to be naked and get away from the world.  They see these secluded little nude venues as escapes and as their private little place in the world; and that no one else should enter and disturb the peace they feel.  Believe me when i tell you that i understand those feelings, but it doesn’t help the club very much if new people are made to feel like outsiders unless they fit some stringent criteria.

I now wonder if people like this could be considered at true Naturists?  I doubt they are nude at home unless it’s in the shower.  But i am not being judgmental, just wondering about these.  Are resorts that are much more open and well known, more welcoming of people.  Or is it just because its in the South and people are still so prudish.  I doubt i”ll find a answer any time soon.

Leave a Reply

