Tinea Versicolor

Well for the past few years i have been concerned with what looked like a weird discoloration around my groin area.

For those of you who have seen some of my pictures from earlier in this blog’s history you probably noticed the discoloration as well.  At first I thought the discoloration was due to my shaving my pubic region.  That is true but only in part.  The main reason for the discoloration is a skin condition called Tinea Versicolor.  The condition is caused when the natural fungus on a human’s skin begins to spread out of control basically.  I have included a Wikipedia link in this post so you can look at it or Google it.

To be honest i was basically being a male idiot and never went to the doctor out of a mixture of shame and just thinking it was nothing serious.  But the stuff has pretty much spread around my entire groin area from back to front.  Thankfully it never itched, but it just looked terrible to me and i was afraid anyone seeing it would be grossed out.

What finally got me to take it seriously was when i noticed it was spreading to my hips this year.  I was kind of scared at that point.  But i did have some hope.  I have a cousin who is a dermatologist, so I asked him about and he gave me his diagnosis and said i would be fine, although he was surprised when i told him it didn’t really itch at all.  He said it usually does.  So he sent me a text later with prescription for a creme that I should get to help deal with it.  The creme is called Ketoconazole and it can take a couple of months for it to clear up the condition.

Well there has been something I have noticed in the past few days.  The path and spread of the infection runs along the area where I have shaved frequently.  Noting this i realized that shaving helped to either spread the infection or helped to start it.  I don’t have any real medical evidence but the way the stuff has spread backs up my theory because i remember how i shave my genital area.  My best guess is I irritated my skin or cause small nicks and cuts and that how the stuff spread as the razor also picks up some skin whenever i shave.  I have also noticed that the areas where i sweat the most are also infected.  Thankfully Tinea Versicolor is not a contractible condition.  In others words you CANNOT spread this condition to anyone else via physical or sexual contact.

I decided to post this story on this blog and the other one, because i have noticed some pictures of naturists with the same discoloration, so i decided to post this and the pictures to help others in the naturist community out.  So yeah spread the word and if you know someone who looks like some of the pictures then you can at least help them as well.

Note:  These pictures feel really embarrassing so please don’t spread the pictures around too much.

1 thought on “Tinea Versicolor

Leave a comment